Yes, through authorised providers. Spain regulates who may serve you, not whether you may hold crypto: since 1 July 2026 every provider needs a MiCA authorisation, from the CNMV or from another EU regulator.

The EU’s Markets in Crypto-Assets Regulation (MiCA) sets the licensing rules, and the CNMV, Spain’s securities regulator, is the authority that authorises and supervises crypto-asset service providers, according to its MiCA page. The same page treats crypto as lawful but risky: prices are volatile, you can lose everything, and no compensation scheme covers it.

Spain’s transition for existing firms took a while to settle. The CNMV said in December 2025 that it would end on 1 July 2026, not at the end of 2025 as the regulator had announced a year earlier. Its 15 June 2026 communiqué then said that after that date only authorised providers may operate in Spain, and that firms without authorisation need a plan to migrate their clients. ESMA’s statement of 23 June 2026 told unauthorised providers to wind down in an orderly way.

Which crypto exchanges work in Spain?

Seven of the exchanges we track serve Spanish users under a MiCA licence: Coinbase, Kraken, OKX, Bitstamp, Bybit, Crypto.com and Gate. Four are fully available; Bybit, Crypto.com and Gate are limited because they offer no derivatives here.

None of them is licensed by the CNMV. Each holds a licence from another EU regulator and serves Spain on a passport, which is why the chart names the regulator that granted it. The CNMV’s register lists these passported providers, and ESMA’s interim register carries the licence dates.

Table of seven exchanges that serve Spanish users under a MiCA licence from another EU country. OKX: OKX Europe Limited, licensed by MFSA, Malta on 27 Jan 2025, spot available, overall available; Crypto.com: Foris DAX MT Limited, licensed by MFSA, Malta on 27 Jan 2025, spot available, overall limited; Bitstamp: Bitstamp Europe S.A., licensed by CSSF, Luxembourg on 15 May 2025, spot available, overall available; Bybit: Bybit EU GmbH, licensed by FMA, Austria on 28 May 2025, spot available, overall limited; Coinbase: Coinbase Luxembourg S.A., licensed by CSSF, Luxembourg on 20 Jun 2025, spot available, overall available; Kraken: Payward Europe Solutions Limited, licensed by Central Bank of Ireland on 25 Jun 2025, spot available, overall available; Gate: Gate Technology Ltd, licensed by MFSA, Malta on 29 Sep 2025, spot available, overall limited.

The firms the CNMV authorised itself are mostly Spanish and sit outside our platform set. The same register lists the exchange Bit2Me (Bitcoinforme, S.L.) from 31 October 2025, the banks BBVA and Kutxabank, and the crypto firms Criptan Trade, Crossmint Europe and Due Network. Binance, MEXC, Bitget, Bitfinex and HTX do not appear in the register at all, and their position is covered under the blocked platforms below.

Best crypto platforms for Spanish residents

By our access score, Bitstamp, Coinbase and Kraken (each 8.0 out of 10) are the most open exchanges for Spanish residents, OKX (7.5) comes next, and Uniswap, Jupiter, PancakeSwap, Lighter and Aster (8.0) are the most open DeFi platforms. No prediction market is fully open to them.

The score rates how fully a Spanish resident can use each platform, not its fees or safety. It is computed from our data and moves when a row changes: access status (4 points), the share of the platform’s products open here (3), the licences we hold on file for Spain (2) and what our geo-access test saw from a Spanish address (1). Nobody scores above 8.0, because every exchange here serves Spain on an EU passport or has no licence at all, and none holds a licence booked to Spain. Platforms that refuse Spanish users are not scored. The full method is on our methodology page.

Exchanges

  1. Bitstamp

    Best for Spot trading from a long-running EU licence

    8.0/10
    Access
    4/4
    Products
    3/3
    Licences
    0/2
    Our test
    1/1

    Pros

    • Bitstamp Europe S.A. holds a CSSF MiCA licence from 15 May 2025
    • Our test loaded the home page from a Spanish address

    Cons

    • No Spanish entity: served from Luxembourg
    Read our Bitstamp report
  2. Coinbase

    Best for A MiCA-licensed exchange with the widest reach

    8.0/10
    Access
    4/4
    Products
    3/3
    Licences
    0/2
    Our test
    1/1

    Pros

    • Coinbase Luxembourg S.A. holds a CSSF MiCA licence passported across the EEA
    • Our test loaded sign-up from a Spanish address with no barrier

    Cons

    • No Spanish entity: served from Luxembourg
    Read our Coinbase report
  3. Kraken

    Best for Spot trading under an Irish MiCA licence

    8.0/10
    Access
    4/4
    Products
    3/3
    Licences
    0/2
    Our test
    1/1

    Pros

    • Payward Europe Solutions holds a Central Bank of Ireland MiCA licence, passported across the EEA
    • Our test loaded sign-up from a Spanish address with no barrier

    Cons

    • No Spanish entity: served from Ireland
    Read our Kraken report
  4. OKX

    Best for A global brand with a local EU site

    7.5/10
    Access
    4/4
    Products
    3/3
    Licences
    0/2
    Our test
    0.5/1

    Pros

    • OKX Europe Limited holds an MFSA MiCA licence from 27 January 2025
    • Our test sent Spanish sign-ups to OKX Europe

    Cons

    • Served from Malta, not by a Spanish entity
    Read our OKX report
  5. Bybit

    Best for Spot trading only

    6.9/10
    Access
    3.5/4
    Products
    2.4/3
    Licences
    0/2
    Our test
    1/1

    Pros

    • Spot is served by Bybit EU GmbH under an Austrian MiCA licence

    Cons

    • Bybit EU offers no derivatives
    • Global Bybit, which has them, is being wound down for the EEA
    Read our Bybit report
  6. Crypto.com

    Best for Spot trading in an app

    6.3/10
    Access
    3.5/4
    Products
    1.8/3
    Licences
    0/2
    Our test
    1/1

    Pros

    • Foris DAX MT Limited holds a Malta MiCA licence from 27 January 2025
    • Spot trading and the app are offered

    Cons

    • Derivatives are on its geo-restrictions list for Spain
    Read our Crypto.com report
  7. Gate

    Best for Spot trading on a licensed EU arm

    5.5/10
    Access
    3.5/4
    Products
    1.5/3
    Licences
    0/2
    Our test
    0.5/1

    Pros

    • Gate Technology Ltd holds a Maltese MiCA licence
    • Spot trading is open to Spanish users

    Cons

    • No derivatives: global Gate lists Spain as restricted
    • Our test showed an EU-region notice at sign-up
    Read our Gate report

DeFi

  1. Aster

    Best for Perpetuals from your own wallet

    8.0/10
    Access
    4/4
    Products
    3/3
    Licences
    0/2
    Our test
    1/1

    Pros

    • Spain is not on its prohibited-jurisdictions list
    • Its trading app loaded in our test

    Cons

    • No licence on file for Spain
    Read our Aster report
  2. Jupiter

    Best for Solana swaps

    8.0/10
    Access
    4/4
    Products
    3/3
    Licences
    0/2
    Our test
    1/1

    Pros

    • Spain is not named in its terms
    • Its app loaded in our test

    Cons

    • No licence on file for Spain
    Read our Jupiter report
  3. Lighter

    Best for Perpetuals from your own wallet

    8.0/10
    Access
    4/4
    Products
    3/3
    Licences
    0/2
    Our test
    1/1

    Pros

    • Spain is not named in its terms
    • Its trading app loaded in our test

    Cons

    • No licence on file for Spain
    Read our Lighter report
  4. PancakeSwap

    Best for BNB Chain swaps and pools

    8.0/10
    Access
    4/4
    Products
    3/3
    Licences
    0/2
    Our test
    1/1

    Pros

    • Not excluded by its terms
    • The swap page loaded in our test

    Cons

    • No licence on file for Spain
    Read our PancakeSwap report
  5. Uniswap

    Best for Swapping tokens from your own wallet

    8.0/10
    Access
    4/4
    Products
    3/3
    Licences
    0/2
    Our test
    1/1

    Pros

    • Its terms bar only places under comprehensive US sanctions
    • Our test loaded the swap app from a Spanish address

    Cons

    • No licence on file for Spain
    Read our Uniswap report
  6. Hyperliquid

    Best for Perpetuals and spot on its own chain

    5.9/10
    Access
    3/4
    Products
    1.9/3
    Licences
    0/2
    Our test
    1/1

    Pros

    • Perpetuals and spot loaded in our test
    • Not excluded by its terms

    Cons

    • Its outcome markets tab is hidden from Spanish addresses
    Read our Hyperliquid report

Which platforms block Spanish users?

Three of the 22 platforms we track refuse Spanish users: Bitget, Gemini and HTX. Ten more are limited: Binance, Bybit, Crypto.com, Gate, KuCoin, MEXC, Bitfinex, Hyperliquid, Kalshi and Polymarket.

Most exits trace to MiCA. Gemini closed every account in the UK and EEA on 6 April 2026. Bitget is on the list of countries its verification page does not serve, and it holds no MiCA licence. KuCoin EU has had trading and deposits suspended since 4 February 2026. Binance told EU users it would stop services after failing to secure a licence; its sign-ups, deposits and trading are closed and existing users can withdraw. HTX’s terms bar every EU state, and since 23 August 2026 EU sanctions on Russia-linked providers ban dealings with it, under Regulation (EU) 2026/1848. MEXC has no MiCA licence and ESMA lists it as non-compliant. We found no CNMV warning naming any of these platforms, though the warnings search did not return entries for us, so that is not proof there is none.

Platforms that refuse or restrict Spanish usersPick one to see what we found
PlatformStatusTypeWhat we found
BitgetRestrictedExchangeOn the list of countries its verification page does not serve, and no MiCA licence
GeminiRestrictedExchangeClosed every account on 6 April 2026; its sign-up page refused us from Spain
HTXRestrictedExchangeIts user agreement bars all EU states, and EU sanctions ban dealings with HTX from 23 August 2026
BinanceLimitedExchangeNo MiCA authorisation since 1 July 2026: sign-ups, deposits and trading closed, existing users can withdraw
KuCoinLimitedExchangeKuCoin EU has had trading and deposits suspended since 4 February 2026; global KuCoin takes no new EEA users
MEXCLimitedExchangeNo MiCA licence; ESMA lists it as non-compliant
BybitLimitedExchangeBybit EU serves spot only; derivatives are not offered here
Crypto.comLimitedExchangeSpot is open; derivatives are on its geo-restrictions list
GateLimitedExchangeGlobal Gate lists Spain as restricted; Gate EU serves spot only
BitfinexLimitedExchangeNo Bitfinex company is on ESMA’s register, and Spanish persons are barred from its derivatives
HyperliquidLimitedDEXIts app hides the outcome markets tab from Spanish addresses; perpetuals and spot load
KalshiLimitedPrediction marketNot on its own list, but the gambling regulator ordered its website blocked on 26 May 2026
PolymarketLimitedPrediction marketNot on its own list, but the gambling regulator ordered internet providers to block it on 26 May 2026

Source: platform terms and notices, CNMV, ESMA, EU Official Journal, verified 17 October 2026. What each site showed us is in the next section.

What our geo-access test saw from Spain

From a Spanish address on 14 and 16 October 2026 we tested all 22 platforms we track: 1 refused us, 3 showed a notice or a redirect, and 18 loaded with no barrier.

An open page is not permission. Bitget, HTX and Binance all loaded their pages although Bitget does not serve Spain, HTX’s terms bar the EU and Binance has closed new sign-ups. Polymarket and Kalshi loaded too, even though the gambling regulator had ordered both blocked. The one refusal was Gemini (“Gemini does not currently operate in Spain”). The notices were an EU-region prompt at Gate, a suggestion to switch to KuCoin EU, and OKX’s redirect to its European site. Swipe through the screenshots below; each card quotes the message the page showed.

Who regulates crypto in Spain?

The CNMV authorises and supervises crypto firms and their advertising. The Banco de España supervises stablecoin issuers, the gambling regulator (DGOJ) polices betting and prediction markets, and the tax agency (AEAT) collects crypto reports.

Timeline in four lanes. EU, 30 December 2024: MiCA applies (Rules for service providers). EU, 1 January 2026: DAC8 applies (Providers report users). CNMV, 28 December 2024: Ad notice rule repealed (Circular 1/2024). CNMV, 15 June 2026: End-of-transition notice (Only authorised firms). Banco de España, 30 December 2024: Register stops new entries (Old VASP register). Banco de España, 1 July 2026: Register closed (MiCA transition ends). DGOJ, 26 May 2026: Polymarket and Kalshi blocked (Precautionary order).

  • CNMV. The Comisión Nacional del Mercado de Valores authorises crypto-asset service providers and publishes the register of those that may operate in Spain, per its MiCA page. Advertising is now governed by MiCA itself: the CNMV repealed its own advertising circular in December 2024, which ended the national prior-notice rule for mass campaigns. It can still require changes to an ad, suspend or prohibit it, and order a halt of up to 30 business days at a time, under article 247 of Law 6/2023 as quoted in a pending bill.
  • Banco de España. The central bank supervises issuers of asset-referenced and e-money tokens, per the CNMV’s page. It also ran the register of crypto exchange and wallet providers, which stopped taking entries on 30 December 2024 and was closed on 1 July 2026. Registration there, the bank says, implied no approval or verification of the firm.
  • DGOJ. The Dirección General de Ordenación del Juego, inside the Ministry of Consumer Affairs, licenses gambling and can have sites blocked; see the prediction markets section.
  • AEAT. The tax agency sets how gains are declared and collects reports from custodians and exchanges, as covered in the tax section.

The same bill, published on 27 July 2026 and moving through Congress under the urgency procedure, would update the MiCA sanction regime, make crypto-asset service providers subject to the anti-money-laundering law and create a CNMV register of them. We found no sign that it has become law.

Which crypto products are limited in Spain?

Spot trading is the open product. Bybit, Crypto.com, Gate and Bitfinex offer no derivatives to Spanish users, and prediction trading is barred on Hyperliquid and blocked on Kalshi and Polymarket.

Product matrix for six platforms in Spain. Bybit: spot available, derivatives limited, prediction markets no separate row, overall limited; Crypto.com: spot available, derivatives restricted, prediction markets no separate row, overall limited; Gate: spot available, derivatives restricted, prediction markets no separate row, overall limited; Bitfinex: spot no separate row, derivatives restricted, prediction markets no separate row, overall limited; Hyperliquid: spot no separate row, derivatives available, prediction markets restricted, overall limited; Kalshi: spot no separate row, derivatives no separate row, prediction markets limited, overall limited. An en dash means no separate row for that product.

  • Derivatives. Bybit EU offers none, and Crypto.com lists derivatives among its geo-restricted products for Spain. Global Gate, which has them, lists Spain as restricted, and Spanish persons are named as prohibited persons under Bitfinex’s derivative terms.
  • Stablecoins. Issuers of asset-referenced and e-money tokens answer to the Banco de España, per the CNMV, so a stablecoin issuer is licensed separately from the exchange that lists it.
  • Prediction markets. The tab is hidden by Hyperliquid’s location check from Spanish addresses; the legal position is below.

Not without a licence. Spain’s gambling regulator treats prediction markets as games of chance and, since 26 May 2026, has had Polymarket and Kalshi blocked while a sanction case runs.

The Ministry of Consumer Affairs, which houses the DGOJ, opened the case against both platforms for operating without authorisation. Its reasoning is that betting on uncertain future outcomes is gambling and needs a specific licence, and it says the platforms lack identity, minor-protection and self-exclusion controls. The block applies nationwide as a precaution until the final decision. The case was notified through the official gazette after direct notice abroad failed, and the ministry estimated three to four months. We found no final decision by 17 October 2026, so the case is open. The release cites no article of the gambling law, and we found no Spanish bill that would licence prediction markets.

In our data both platforms are limited, not restricted: neither names Spain on its own list, and both loaded in our test, so the block is a regulator’s order against the sites rather than a platform exit. Hyperliquid, which runs outcome markets inside a wider product, hides them for Spanish addresses and is limited for that reason.

How is crypto taxed in Spain?

Gains on selling crypto are taxed as savings income, at 19% on the first 6,000 euros rising to 30% above 300,000 for the 2025 tax year. Swapping one crypto for another counts as a sale.

Spain taxes individuals’ crypto gains as savings income in five bands for the 2025 tax year: 19% on the first 6,000 euros, 21% from 6,000 to 50,000, 23% from 50,000 to 200,000, 27% from 200,000 to 300,000 and 30% above 300,000. There is no holding-period distinction, swaps of one crypto for another count as sales, and crypto held abroad is reported on Modelo 721 between 1 January and 31 March.

The tax agency’s Renta 2025 manual, updated 17 March 2026, treats a sale for euros as a capital gain or loss in the savings base, and says an exchange between two different virtual currencies also gives a gain or loss. Coins are matched first in, first out, even across exchanges, and gains go on the income tax return (Modelo 100). The agency’s savings scale for 2025 is 19%, 21%, 23%, 27% and 30%, with bands ending at 6,000, 50,000, 200,000 and 300,000 euros. The manual sets no holding-period rule, so a coin held for a day and one held for years are taxed alike. We found no change announced for 2026.

Two filings concern holders. Crypto held with a provider abroad is reported on Modelo 721, filed from 1 January to 31 March, according to the agency’s filing page; coins in a wallet where you hold the keys are not reported. Spanish providers report balances on Modelo 172. For the wealth tax, the euro balance of each coin is declared at 23:59 on 31 December, per the agency’s manual.

Reporting is due to change. The EU’s DAC8 directive applies from 1 January 2026, with providers reporting within nine months of year end, so the first report falls due by 30 September 2027. Spain’s transposing law has not come into force as far as we found, and a Hacienda draft order of March 2026 would scrap Modelo 173, rename Modelos 172 and 721 and add a new Modelo 175. It is only a draft.

Working out the tax on a Spanish crypto saleFor an individual, from the tax agency’s manual
StepDetail
Spot the taxable eventSelling for euros or swapping one crypto for another gives a gain or loss; there is no holding-period rule
Match coins first in, first outThe coins sold are the ones bought first, across all your exchanges
Declare on Modelo 100Gains and losses go in the savings base of the income tax return
Apply the savings scale19% to 6,000 euros, 21% to 50,000, 23% to 200,000, 27% to 300,000 and 30% above (2025)
Report crypto held abroadModelo 721 between 1 January and 31 March; self-custody wallets are not reported

Source: agenciatributaria.gob.es, checked 17 October 2026.